Change. We don’t like it, we fear it. But we can’t stop it from coming. Change is inevitable. We either adapt to change, or we get left behind. It hurts to grow and accept major transitions. Anybody who tells you it doesn’t is lying. But here’s the truth: sometimes, the more the things change, the more they stay the same. And sometimes, oh, sometimes, change is good. Sometimes, change is… everything.

My life is changing a bit. And I’m anxious. We’re all susceptible to it- the dread and anxiety of not knowing what’s coming. But what I’ve realized is that it’s pointless in the end. Because all the worrying, and all the making of plans for the things that could or could not happen, it only makes the things worse. 

We all make plans for our future. We constantly try to predict our future, as if figuring it out will cushion the blow. I’m going through the same phase. I have just completed my 10th, and I have already started thinking about all sorts of medical entrance exams, colleges for studying medicine, hospitals for completing internship, which is better- MD or MS, and stuff.

To be honest, I have a lot of expectations from myself. I think I’m going to be great, and that I’ll be leading a happy life. But sometimes, I do feel anxious about my future. What if my expectations are not met? What if in future, the expected just pales in front of the unexpected?

I think it happens with all of us. Yet we cling to our expectations. Because the expected is just what keeps us steady… standing… still. The expected is just the beginning. The unexpected… is what changes our lives.

Future is always changing. The future is the home of our deepest fears and wildest hopes. But sometimes, when it finally reveals itself, the ‘future’ is never the way we imagined it.

So now, should I be even more afraid?

No.

Unexpected things happen in our lives. We constantly fight change. We fear change. Sometimes just when we think we have figured things out, the universe throws us a curveball. Now that’s a twist in the story. A change. But then, we improvise. And then, we do find happiness in these unexpected places. We find ourselves back to the things that matter the most. The universe is funny that way. Sometimes, these ‘twists’ are just a way of making sure we wind up exactly where we belong.

What I want to say is that planning or predicting our future is sort of pointless, because worrying won’t change anything.  So walk your dog, or take a nap. Just, whatever you do, stop worrying. Because the only cure for paranoia (I love talking medical!), is to be… here… just as you are.

YK

Let's talk!

